top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

In Love and War

"I am exactly where I should be,

doing exactly what I should be doing. "

I thought I knew what I was in for when I first heard about Sara Pennypacker's newest middle grade novel, "Pax". Quotes from the story, which surfaced on social media in the weeks leading up to the book's release, quickly convinced me that this was going to be one of the year's highlights. Those expectations only grew when I glimpsed Jon Klassen's outstanding front cover. And, when I finally held the sturdy, textured book in my hands, I was eager for what I assumed would be a sweet, simple story about a boy and his pet.

Turns out, I had no idea what I was in for with this book.

What I didn't know about "Pax" was just how serious it was. I didn't know that this book would focus on the mature subjects of war and death, as well as their often disastrous consequences on the human and the natural world. I didn't know that Pennypacker would use the dual perspective of Peter and his loyal little fox to extensively explore the themes of loneliness, betrayal, regret, weapons, loss, and the interior struggles within us all.

Sara Pennypacker is best known for her “Clementine” books. Fans of that series will no doubt recognize her name, be attracted by "Pax's" deceptively peaceful front cover, and expect something very different from what they will find within this story. This is exactly what happened in my experience. Because of this, there has been some understandable concern that the book’s format does not accurately reflect its content. After all, that endearing illustration of Pax overlooking quiet fields and a setting sun does give the impression that this story is geared for younger readers. Indeed, in my own library, elementary readers have been the most interested by this book when they saw me reading it. However, teachers and librarians should be aware that the content in this book makes it more appropriate for upper middle and high school students. This does not, of course, at all imply that this book isn't as beautiful and meaningful as I had hoped it would be when I opened the first page. In fact, for the right reader, this book is extremely powerful.

Interestingly enough, there is a lot about the story's setting that remains unknown throughout the whole book. For example, we never find out where Peter lives or even during which time period. There are some hints that he might be living in modern times, but at other points in the story the feel is anything but contemporary. This was a masterful technique on Pennypacker's part to let the story take the stage and ensure that, as the reader, we don't get caught up in the details of a particular time or event. Thus, Pennypacker has us reflecting upon the universal effects of "war" and not the specific outcomes of "this or that war."

There is so much incredible depth and symbolism packed into this unassuming book. For example, throughout the story, there are many subtle and not so subtle references to war: from Peter's memory of play fighting with his friends to the ominous event overshadowing everything and everyone; from Pax's toy soldier to the interior conflict Peter feels within himself. But juxtaposed with this theme is very much the idea of peace, as well as what it entails, what it feels like, and what it is not.

The symbolism of the phoenix is also striking. In a book about the devastations of war, the phoenix serves as a reminder of healing and rebirth. Peter himself views the mythical bird as a connection to his lost mother, but the implications of this symbol reach far beyond that. After all, there is a great deal of death in this book; the phoenix thus becomes a symbol of Peter, as he rises from the ashes of his previous life and learns how to accept and be himself.

I respect the conflicting opinions about "Pax", and I do think it is important for teachers, librarians, and parents to know what this book is about before recommending it to certain young readers. However, in the hands of the right reader, this book is truly an unforgettable journey: from the expected to the unexpected; from the symbolic to the significant; and, ultimately, from war to peace.

bottom of page