top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

A Story and a Song

Books and music have always felt like such a natural pairing to me. They just go hand in hand. Although they take different forms, they both have the end goal of telling a story. Indeed, some of my favorite reading experiences have occurred as I was also listening to soundtrack music. If you have never done this before, I enthusiastically recommend trying it out. Music has a way of immersing the reader even more into the story, the mood, and the emotions of the characters.

It can be a truly epic experience.

And then sometimes, you find a song that fits a story so perfectly, it feels like it was written specifically with that book in mind. I cannot think of a better example for this than Moccasin Trail by Eloise Jarvis McGraw and the song, Always Gold, by Radical Face.

One of my favorite parts of this Newbery Honor book is the complicated and often tumultuous relationship between Jim and his younger brother, Jonathan. Both boys have a shared past and they each hold an underlying respect for the other; but in temperament and in sense of duty, they are just so incredibly different. Throughout her story, McGraw explores the effects of these weighty differences and, in doing so, creates a fantastic build up of tension between two brothers who must now learn to accept who they have both become.

When I listen to this song, I imagine that it is sung from the perspective of Jonnie - the dependable, steady one - right before the book begins and the brothers are united once again. I always wondered what it was like for him after Jim ran away and he was left with no choice but to carry on as the head of the family. Was he resentful of his brother? Was he jealous? Was he begrudgingly admiring of what Jim did? If Jonnie picked up that banjo of his and wrote a song about his brother, I imagine it might have sounded something like this.

"We were tight knit boys

Brothers in more than name

You would kill for me

And knew that I'd do the same

And it cut me sharp

Hearing you'd gone away

But everything goes away

Yeah, everything goes away

But I'm gonna be here 'til I'm nothing

But bones in the ground

And I was there

When you grew restless

And left in the dead of night

And I was there

When three months later

You were standing in the door

All beat and tired

And I stepped aside

Everything goes away

Yeah, everything goes away

But I'm gonna be here 'til I'm nothing

But bones in the ground

So quiet down

We were opposites at birth

I was steady as a hammer

No one worried

'Cause they knew just where I'd be

And they said you were the crooked kind

That you would never have no worth

But you were always gold to me

Back when we were kids

We swore we knew the future

And how our words would take us

Halfway round the world

But I never left this town

And I ain't never saw New York

And we ain't ever crossed the sea

But I am fine with where I am now

This home is home and all that I need

But for you, this place is shame

But you can blame me

When there's no one left to blame

Oh, I don't mind

All my life, I've never known

Where you've been

There were holes in you

The kind that I could not mend

And I heard you say

Right when you left that day

Does everything go away?

Yeah, everything goes away

But I'm gonna be here forever

So just call when you're around"

bottom of page